Serpent's Egg

The Eroticism of Fat Men

Dowson begged Moore also to go to see Adelaide: ‘I have broken my heart over her, but she remains, none the less, my sole interest in life.’

9bf77ef5464ad5636829c6b0324988a2

Dowson begged Moore also to go to see Adelaide: ‘I have broken my heart over her, but she remains, none the less, my sole interest in life.’ In dedicating Verses to her he was hurling his last resources of emotional strength into the relationship. If this brought no effect, what more had he to offer?

He wrote to Sam Smith that he would be ‘idolatrous for the rest of my days. Idolatrous to the extent that Keats was when he wrote from Rome to his friend Browne: “the lining which she put in my travelling cap scalds my head” — and like Keats I cannot open her letters for a day or so after they reach me.’

 

Madder Music, Stronger Wine: The Life of Ernest Dowson, Poet and Decadent

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 30, 2015 by and tagged , , .

Follow me on Twitter

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 219 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 121,675 hits
