Serpent's Egg

The Eroticism of Fat Men

Vachell was elated and agreed to bring Dowson to see Atherton but he was not sure of his ground

img43710

Vachell was elated and agreed to bring Dowson to see Atherton but he was not sure of his ground. He said:

If I only can. If I can only persuade him. But he’s naturally shy, and just now in the depths. He slinks about the hotel with his eyes down, avoiding every one, and I had to pursue him before I could get him even to speak to me. But now I think he is convinced I am his friend, and he talks to me quite freely. Yes! Sooner or later I’ll induce him to meet you. The interest of a woman is what he needs to restore his self-respect.

Several days later, as Atherton and her stepsister Aleece Ullhorn were sitting drinking their coffee on the terrasse before the hotel, Vachell crossed the square ‘with a sad-looking object shambling beside him’. He wore a black sweater, he was unshaven, his hair was long and dusty, his eyes were green, his lips looked like a smudge of red sealing wax, and he had no front teeth.’

Madder Music, Stronger Wine: The Life of Ernest Dowson, Poet and Decadent

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 9, 2015 by and tagged .

Follow me on Twitter

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 218 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 128,360 hits
